Mostrando postagens com marcador Warren Haynes Band. Mostrar todas as postagens
Mostrando postagens com marcador Warren Haynes Band. Mostrar todas as postagens

23 de out. de 2012

Warren Haynes Band The Moody Theater, Austin, TX (11/03/2011)

No comments

No works

No critical

He is now just above any level

He is the best

"For those who attended any concert on the Warren Haynes Band's tour in support of the brilliant Man in Motion, this three-disc package -- one DVD and two CDs -- is your keepsake.

The set features stretched-out versions of all but one track from that album performed live at Austin's Moody Theater in 2011.

In addition, his killer sextet offers readings of two tracks from Haynes' first solo album, Tales of Ordinary Madness, a new version of Gov't Mule's "Frozen Fear," and a host of great covers: from Sam Cooke's "A Change Is Gonna Come" and Jimi Hendrix's "Spanish Castle Magic" to Steely Dan's "Pretzel Logic." Haynes' live band is a crack outfit.

There is an augmented guest horn section on two cuts, and Ian McLagan plays guest keys on three.

The performance is kinetic, long, engaged, expertly played, and raw.

But as fine as these performances are, they highlight the vast differences between studio and live records.

The songs from Man in Motion were written as expressions of his life-long love of soul, early funk, and R&B-drenched blues, and reflect their profound influence on him as a musician.

They were also written with the great songs Haynes admired in mind: songs that were meant to be played on the radio.

They're beautifully constructed, hooky, catchy, and laced with fat grooves.
The grooves are still there and they're still fat on Live at the Moody Theater; only they're stretched -- with lots of guitar soloing, organ, and sax improvs -- to eight-, nine-, ten-, and even twelve-minute jams.

As a result, the craft in the MIM songs get a bit lost inside all that killer jamming.

That's not a complaint, it's reality.

Thankfully, the amazing backing vocals of Alecia Chakour (somebody should sign and record her) and Ron Holloway's tenor sax playing keep the soul in this mix.

The only real problem is the inclusion of "Soulshine"; it's on every live record Haynes has ever released. He should get over that tune -- everyone else has.

The DVD in the set, which offers a visual of the entire show and two bonus rehearsals for "Patchwork Quilt" and "Hattiesburg Hustle," reveal a band that still pulls out all the stops, playing with maximum emotion as well as skill.

If another high-quality live offering from Warren Haynes is what you seek, then Live at the Moody Theater will reward you abundantly. ~ Thom Jurek"
"Singer and guitarist Warren Haynes has served in some of the most devoted, generation-spanning live acts of all time—The Allman Brothers band, The Dead and Gov’t Mule. As a solo artist, Haynes has done pretty well for himself, too.

After the release of only his second solo studio album, Man in Motion, Haynes performed an epic live set in Austin, Texas full of old hits, new tracks, covers and special guest appearances. Couldn’t make it? No worries, Hayes is releasing a three-disc (two CDs and one DVD) package entitled Warren Haynes Band: Live At The Moody Theater, featuring an entire two-and-a-half-hour show via Stax/Concord Music Group on April 24.

Shot in HD and recorded in 5.1 audio, Live At The Moody Theater features Haynes with his band—Ron Johnson on bass, Terence Higgins on drums, Nigel Hall on keyboards, Ron Holloway on saxophone and Alecia Chakour on vocals—playing a wide range of music. With special guests including the Groove Line horns and The Faces’ Ian McLagan, the group delved deep into Haynes back catalogue and covered the likes of Jimi Hendrix’s “Spanish Castle Magic,” Steely Dan’s “Pretzel Logic” and Sam Cooke’s “A Change Is Gonna Come.”

If another high-quality live offering from Warren Haynes is what you seek, then Live at the Moody Theater will reward you abundantly. ~ Thom Jurek

A stunning live concert, recorded in November 2011 at the Moody Theater in Austin, TX, captured in dazzling High Definition state-of-the-art video and 5.1 audio.

Features songs from Haynes' 2011 Grammy-nominated hit album "Man in Motion," as well as sensational covers including Sam Cooke's "A Change is Gonna Come" and many more.

Includes special guests Ian McLagan (Small Faces) and the Grooveline Horns."
Recording information: The Moody Theater, Austin, TX (11/03/2011).

Photographer: Scott Newton.


Warren Haynes (vocals, guitar);
Nigel Hall (vocals, keyboards);
Alecia Chakour (vocals);
Ron Holloway (tenor saxophone);
Terence Higgins (drums).

Live At The Moody Theater

Set 1:
1. Intro
2. Man In Motion
3. River’s Gonna Rise
4. Sick Of My Shadow
5. A Friend To You
6. On A Real Lonely Night
7. Power & The Glory
8. Invisible

Set 2:
1. Take A Bullet
2. Hattiesburg Hustle
3. Everyday Will Be Like A Holiday
4. Frozen Fear
5. Dreaming The Same Dream
6. Pretzel Logic
7. Fire In The Kitchen
8. A Change Is Gonna Come
9. Spanish Castle Magic
10. WHB Intro
11. Tear Me Down

1. Your Wildest Dreams
2. Soulshine

Bonus Tracks:
1. Patchwork Quilt (Soundcheck)
2. Hattiesburg Hustle (Rehearsal)

Enjoy!!!!!!!! or Enjoy too!!!!!!!