Mostrando postagens com marcador Zucchero. Mostrar todas as postagens
Mostrando postagens com marcador Zucchero. Mostrar todas as postagens

24 de abr. de 2011

Zucchero - "Zucchero and Co"

Há tempos devo um post desse monstro de artista e que sou realmente fã de carteirinha.
Pop, estranho, rockeiro ou brega sei lá porque não me importa, simplesmente me pego cantando e acompanhando suas músicas.

Zucchero Fornaciari é pra mim um dos mais completos artistas e showmans que já vi e ouvi e olha que acompanho sua carreira quase desde o início e achei estranho sua parceria com Paul Young em Senza una Dona e logo depois várias outras como Pavarotti e Sting, mas aí me aprofundando mais é que fui ver que ele era reverenciado por estes artistas e não mais um caça níqueis de alguma major.

Se já o respeitava aí que revisei sua carreira e me apaixonei ainda mais por sua sonoridade e até prq não seu romantismo exagerado ou seu "barulho descompassado" em muitos discos.

Este não foi diferente, prq adoro tributos, adoro parcerias e adoro o Zucchero.

Só feras, só versões perfeitamente encaixadas de suas músicas e realmente escolhidos a dedo as parcerias como só ele poderia fazê-lo com um resultado pra os que como eu não tem preconceitos e gostam de uma boa música pra curtir descompromissadamente.

Zucchero, um dos maiores artistas da atualidade e que orgulham e muito aos italianos por sua postura e loucura,rs

Detalhe: atentem pra tudo mas as versões com BBKing, Dolores O'Riordan e Cheb Mami valem o disco como um todo.Adelmo Fornaciari was born in Reggio Emilia, Italy (in the frazione of Roncocesi) although he spent most of his childhood in the seaside town of Forte dei Marmi (Province of Lucca, Tuscany). Fornaciari currently lives in Pontremoli.

"This guy is so talented ... a great voice ... probably one of the best blues musicians I've ever worked with ...— Ray Charles"

His musical career began in 1970, with several small bands such as I ducali, Le nuove luci, Sugar & Daniel, Sugar & Candies and finally with a band named Taxi, with whom he won the Castrocaro music festival in 1981. He made his first appearance in the famous Sanremo festival next year with the songs "Una notte che vola via" and in 1983 with "Nuvola" at Festival dei Fiori. His first album, Un po' di Zucchero, was released the same year with moderate success.

In 1984 Fornaciari temporarily moved to California, where he collaborated for the first time with Italian producer Corrado Rustici. The result of these sessions, with a backing band that included bassist Randy Jackson, was the 1985 album Zucchero & The Randy Jackson Band, of which the single "Donne" became a huge hit in Italy. After the relative success of Zucchero & The Randy Jackson Band, Fornaciari and Rustici again gathered in California to work on a follow-up. Rispetto, which included several hit singles including the titletrack and "Come il sole all'improvviso", combining the Italo-pop sound of Fornaciari's earlier albums with a more American soul sound.

Although Zucchero & The Randy Jackson Band and Rispetto had been commercially successful, it was the 1988 album Blue's that went on to become the highest selling album in Italian history, and made Fornaciari a household name in Italy, and the rest of Europe. The album, again produced by Rustici and featuring musical performances by Clarence Clemons, The Memphis Horns and David Sancious, included the Italian hit singles "Con Le Mani" (with lyrics by Gino Paoli), the controversial "Solo una sana...", and the original version of "Senza una Donna" which later became an international hit in a duet version with Paul Young. During the following Blue's Tour Fornaciari shared the stage with Joe Cocker (for a cover of "With a Little Help From My Friends"), Ray Charles and Dee Dee Bridgewater.Adelmo Fornicari, known to the world by his nickname, Zucchero, which means "Sugar” in his homeland of Italy, has struck gold with his new release Zucchero & Co. Ok, I will admit it, I had never heard of this artist until now. For me this man is a revelation! It is rather apparent he has the respect of his peers worldwide as luminaries such as B.B. King, Eric Clapton, John Lee Hooker and Jeff Beck, to name a few, collaborate with Zucchero on this release. Zucchero’s vocal style has a resemblance to Gary Brooker of Procol Harum, so if you are looking for some familiarity, there is one example.

The results of all the partnerships on each track are magnificent!-Making every track a true work of art. The recordings collectively date back to 2001. The CD starts with blues legend John Lee Hooker singing “I Lay Down.” It is a memorable performance and one only John Lee could pull off. His voice was indeed unique and universal in the world of blues. My two favorites are back to back, “Wonderful World,” with Clapton and “Hey Man (Sing a Song)” with King. Even when Zucchero sings in Italian, like with opera star Andrea Bocelli on “Miserere,” which is quite beautiful, even though I did not understand a word, I enjoyed it immensely.

The consistency and quality is remarkable on this album. It does not matter what waters Zucchero dips his toes in, he comes out sounding like a real star on every track. Having a lineup like this does not hurt either. Besides the obvious talents of the man, he attracted some of the finest talent in the music biz to the sessions, which says a mouthful about his taste in music. His talents as lyricist are strong and he is equally adept at many positions instrumentally, playing guitars, mellotron, electric piano, organ, fuzz synth and the Wurlitzer.

This artist has it all going in the right direction. The best part about it is he put it all together on one album. I can see this recording winning a Grammy of some sort for 2005; it is unequivocally a five star album in a world of sub par over inflated pop stars. I promise you that you will love everything about this album, the emotion, the diversity, the sounds, and above all, the tremendous international crossover appeal that you find yourself joyously immersed in. This is a real winner; a sure bet for many spins, get it.
© Keith "MuzikMan" HannaleckTracklist:

01. Dune Mosse (With Miles Davis) [0:05:44.38]
02. Muoio Per Te (With Sting) [0:03:22.71]
03. Everybody's Got To Learn Sometime (With Vanessa Carlton Feat. Haylie Ecker) [0:04:03.42]
04. Mama Get Real (With Mousse T.) [0:03:20.67]
05. Like The Sun - From Out Of Nowhere (With Macy Gray) [0:03:56.33]
06. Baila Morena (With Mana) [0:04:06.30]
07. I Lay Down (With John Lee Hooker) [0:04:56.43]
08. Blue (With Sheryl Crow) [0:04:48.42]
09. Pure Love (With Dolores O'Riordan) [0:03:27.74]
10. A Wonderful World (With Eric Clapton) [0:04:35.27]
11. Pippo - Nasty Guy (With Tom Jones) [0:03:53.36]
12. Hey Man - Sing A Song (With B.B. King) [0:04:37.52]
13. The Flight (With Ronan Keating) [0:04:48.46]
14. Cosi Celeste (With Cheb Mami) [0:04:42.43]
15. Diavolo In Me - A Devil In Me (With Solomon Burke) [0:04:00.08]
16. Senza Una Donna - Without A Woman (With Paul Young) [0:04:30.65]
17. Il Mare Impetuoso Al Tramonto Sali Sulla Luna... (With Brian May) [0:03:56.25]
18. Miserere (With Luciano Pavarotti & Andrea Bocelli) [0:04:14.20]

Total Time: [1:17:07.12]