Mostrando postagens com marcador Dweezil Zappa. Mostrar todas as postagens
Mostrando postagens com marcador Dweezil Zappa. Mostrar todas as postagens

6 de jun. de 2014

Dweezil Zappa and the Zappa Legacy

Dweezil Zappa (05 de Setembro de 1969) é um guitarrista americano, filho do grande Frank Zappa. Zappa Plays Zappa é uma banda de tributo a Frank Zappa, liderada por Dweezil Zappa - seu filho mais velho - que foi formada em 2006. Foi por 3 vezes indicado ao Grammy Awards, na categoria "Best Rock Instrumental Performance".

The band debuted in 2006 with shows in Europe, Canada, and the United States during May and June (the tour was also known as Zappa Plays Zappa: Tour de Frank'). The shows presented a collection of Frank Zappa's rock-oriented compositions from the 1960s to the late 1970s. Apart from Dweezil Zappa on lead guitar, many of the band members previously played with Frank Zappa. Among those, Napoleon Murphy Brock (sax, flute, and vocals) was an integral part of the band, while drummer/vocalist Terry Bozzio and guitarist Steve Vai performed as guests in parts of the shows. At several shows the live band played along with audio and video recordings of Frank Zappa himself, notably portions of "Chunga's Revenge", "Dumb All Over", "Cosmik Debris", and "Muffin Man".
Dweezil Zappa - lead guitar, vocals
Scheila Gonzalez - saxophone, flute, keyboards, harmonica, vocals
Ryan Brown - drums, percussion, vocals
Ben Thomas - lead vocals, trumpet, trombone, rhythm guitar
Chris Norton - keyboards, violin, vocals
Kurt Morgan - bass, vocals

Former members:
Aaron Arntz - trumpet, keyboards, vocals
Pete Griffin - bass
Billy Hulting - marimba, mallets, percussions
Jamie Kime - rhythm guitar
Joe Travers - drums, vocals

Guests on most 2006 shows:
Napoleon Murphy Brock - vocals, saxophone, flute
Terry Bozzio - drums, vocals
Steve Vai - guitar

Dweezil Zappa em uma grande homenagem ao seu pai, Frank Zappa. Show gravado ao vivo da tour européia, teve participações de Terry Bozzio, Steve Vai e Napoleon Murphy Brock. Um grande álbum...