28 de jul. de 2018

Zabriskie Point Soundtrack and Lost sessions

Zabriskie Point is a 1970 American film by Italian director Michelangelo Antonioni, widely noted at the time for its setting in the counterculture of the United States in the late 1960s. Some of the film's scenes were shot on location at Zabriskie Point in Death Valley. Zabriskie Point was an overwhelming commercial failure and panned by most critics upon release. It has, however, achieved somewhat of a cult status and is noted for its cinematography, use of music, and direction.

The soundtrack to Zabriskie Point included music from Pink Floyd, The Youngbloods, The Kaleidoscope, Jerry Garcia, Patti Page, Grateful Dead, the Rolling Stones and John Fahey. Roy Orbison sang the theme song, over the credits, called "So Young".

Zabriskie Point is a soundtrack album to the Michelangelo Antonioni film of the same name. It was originally released in February 1970 and comprises songs from various artists. A 1997 re-release includes four bonus tracks each from Jerry Garcia and Pink Floyd that were used in the film, but not the original soundtrack. Jim Morrison of the Doors wrote the track "L'America" for the film, but was rejected by Antonioni ("L'America" was later released on the Doors album L.A. Woman). A Rolling Stones track, "You Got the Silver", is featured in the film but not present on this album.

Disc 1:
1. "Heart Beat, Pig Meat"   Pink Floyd
2. "Brother Mary"  Kaleidoscope
3. "Excerpt from Dark Star"  Grateful Dead
4. "Crumbling Land" Pink Floyd
5. "Tennessee Waltz" Patti Page
6. "Sugar Babe"   The Youngbloods
7. "Love Scene"  Jerry Garcia (Grateful Dead)
8. "I Wish I Was a Single Girl Again"  Roscoe Holcomb
9. "Mickey's Tune"   Kaleidoscope
10. "Dance of Death"   John Fahey
11. "Come in Number 51, Your Time Is Up"  Pink Floyd

Disc 2:
1. "Love Scene Improvisations (Version 1)"  Jerry Garcia
2. "Love Scene Improvisations (Version 2)"  Jerry Garcia
3. "Love Scene Improvisations (Version 3)"  Jerry Garcia
4. "Love Scene Improvisations (Version 4)"  Jerry Garcia
5. "Country Song" Pink Floyd
6. "Unknown Song" Pink Floyd
7. "Love Scene (Version 6)" Pink Floyd
8. "Love Scene (Version 4)" Pink Floyd

Pink Floyd's contributions to the album were recorded in November and December 1969, after the release of Ummagumma. "Come in Number 51, Your Time Is Up" is a re-recording of "Careful with That Axe, Eugene," originally released as a b-side in December 1968. "Love Scene (Version 4)" is a Richard Wright solo piano composition. "Country Song" (also known as "The Red Queen") is a ballad filled with chess metaphors. "Unknown Song" (also known as "Rain in the Country") is a relaxed instrumental. "Love Scene (Version 6)" is a bluesy instrumental. A track entitled "Fingal's Cave" and another called "Oenone" were recorded but did not appear on the finished album. Pink Floyd also recorded other unreleased material during the same sessions. Most notable is a lengthy composition which at that time was known as "The Violent Sequence" (later released on Dark Side of the Moon Immersion Box Set). This piece is immediately recognisable as the basis of "Us and Them" from Dark Side of the Moon.